Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is made up of representatives of the different institutions sponsoring OpenEdition Center.

Eric Berton
President of Aix-Marseille University

François-Joseph Ruggiu
Scientific Director of the INSHS/CNRS

Marin Dacos
Open Science Advisor (French Ministry of Research)

Jacques Dubucs
Directorate General for Research and Innovation, French Ministry of Higher Education and Research

Philippe Ellerkamp
President of the University of Avignon and Pays de Vaucluse

Marie Pellen
Director of OpenEdition

Christophe Prochasson
President of the EHESS

Michael Sinatra
Chair of the OpenEdition Scientific Board

OpenEdition Scientific Board


Michael Sinatra – Professor, Department of Literature and World Language, University of Montreal (Quebec)


Karine Bennafla – Professor, Geography, Lyon III University (France)

François Bougard – Director of the Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes (Institute for Research and Text History) (France)


Souad Azizi – Professor, Anthropology, Hassan II University of Casablanca (Morocco) 

Sandra Breux – Associate Professor, Urbanization, Culture, Society, National Institute of Scientific Research (Quebec) 

Elena Giglia – Head of the Open Access and Digital Publishing Office at the University of Turin / Delegate of the Scientific Board of OpenEdition Italia (Italy)

Lucas Graeff – Lecturer and Researcher, Sociology, La Salle University (Brazil) 

Tincuta Heinzel – Lecturer, Aesthetics and Artistic Sciences, University of Loughborough (England) 

Isabelle Laboulais – Professor, Modern History, Director of Strasbourg University Press, University of Strasbourg (France)

Thomas Lamarche – Professor, Economics, Paris Diderot University (France)

Deborah Paci - Lecturer, Contemporary History, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice (Italy)

Anne Page – Professor, British Literature and Civilization, Aix-Marseille University (France)

Antònia Pedroso de Lima – Assistant Professor, Anthropology, ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon / Delegate of the LusOpenEdition Scientific Board (Portugal)

Sylvain Piron -– Director of Studies, Intellectual History of Medieval Societies, EHESS (France)

Bernard Pochet – Lecturer, Scientific Literature,  Manager of research and education support at ULiège Library and Director of the University Press of Liège in Gembloux (Belgium)

Anne Réach-Ngô – Lecturer, Language Sciences, University of Haute-Alsace (France)

Alexis Rivier – Lead Curator for Digital Policy, Geneva Library (Switzerland) 

Nicolas Sauger – Professor, Political Science, Sciences Po Paris (France)

Marta Severo – Lecturer, Communication and Information Sciences, Paris Nanterre University (France)

Marie-Ève Thérenty – Professor, French Literature, Paul Valéry University Montpellier 3 (France)

Marta Torre-Schaub – Research Director, Law and Climate Change, CNRS (France)

Other bodies

OpenEdition Lab, OpenEdition’s research and development programme, has a scientific advisory board whose mission is to help structure and guide OpenEdition’s R&D activities.

Hypotheses has several Scientific Boards, reflecting the main language areas of the platform.

Calenda also has its own Scientific Board.

The OpenEdition Journals and OpenEdition Books platforms each have a Validation Committee that prepares files for review by the Scientific Board.

Publishers Consortium

A Publishers Consortium has been created around the OpenEdition Books platform. Its role is to provide recommendations as this platform develops. By 2018, it included more than 70 publishers.

Users’ Committee

A Users’ Committee has been formed as part of the OpenEdition Freemium programme. It is made up of library conservators, librarians and information engineering professionals. The libraries subscribing to the programme have a seat on the committee, which meets at least once a year and has a permanent activity through working groups, whether at a distance or in person: referencing and bibliometrics, internationalization, quality of metadata and bibliographic tools, journals forum, and relationship with libraries, among other roles.