Distribution in libraries

OpenEdition Freemium is developing an innovative and sustainable model for digital open access journals and books. Through our programme of book sales to libraries and research institutions, publications enjoy greater visibility in academic and institutional networks while the sale of these titles generates income.

Institutions that have subscribed to the journals offer or which have bought or rented books enjoy unrestricted open access to the HTML version of titles and DRM-free unlimited downloads of PDFs and ePubs. The offer also includes a range of other services for institutions.

Nearly 150 journals hosted on Revues.org have already opted for the Open Access Freemium distribution model. And almost 50 journals have opted for open access by joining the OpenEdition Freemium bundle
> See the list

Formats

  • HTML (in open access)
  • ePubs (for tablets and smartphones)
  • PDFs (facsimiles or automatically generated)

Income

One of the aims of the programme is to participate in the financing of digital academic publishing. The income generated can be used to develop the publication by covering the costs of, for example, copy-editing services or the translation of abstracts and metadata.

The income generated is paid to journal publishers annually. The payment is calculated pro rata on the basis of the number of visits to their journal’s site by subscribers to the offer. Book publishers receive two thirds of the price of books purchased or rented by institutions.

Distribution network

> Consult the list of institutions and libraries around the world that have subscribed to OpenEdition Freemium

Diffusion en bibliothèque

OpenEdition Freemium développe un modèle économique innovant et durable pour les revues et les livres électroniques en libre accès. À travers un programme commercialisé auprès des bibliothèques et des institutions de recherche, les publications bénéficient d’une meilleure visibilité dans les réseaux universitaires et institutionnels, et leur diffusion génère des revenus.

Pour les institutions abonnées à l’offre de revues ou qui ont acheté ou loué des livres, le format HTML est disponible en libre accès sans aucune restriction, tandis que les versions PDF et ePub sont accessibles sans DRM ni quota de téléchargement. D’autres services à destination des institutions complètent cette offre.

Plus de 160 revues hébergées sur la plateforme OpenEdition Journals ont d’ores et déjà choisi le modèle de diffusion OpenEdition Freemium. Et près de 50 revues ont adopté le libre accès en adhérant au bouquet OpenEdition Freemium.
> Voir la liste

Formats

  • HTML (en libre accès).
  • ePub (lecture sur tablette et smartphone).
  • PDF (fac similé ou générés automatiquement).

Revenus

Un des objectifs du programme est de participer au financement de l’édition électronique scientifique. Les revenus générés peuvent contribuer au développement d’une publication en rémunérant, par exemple, le secrétariat d’édition ou la traduction de résumés et de métadonnées.

Les éditeurs de revues touchent des revenus annuellement, au prorata des statistiques de fréquentation du site de leur revue par les abonnés à l'offre. Les éditeurs de livres touchent deux tiers du prix des livres acquis ou loués par les institutions.

Diffusion

Consulter la liste des institutions et bibliothèques abonnées à travers le monde