Submit a book series application

OpenEdition Books brings together a consortium of international publishers in an initiative to digitally disseminate research publications in the humanities and social sciences. If you are a publisher and wish to take part in this project, please contact us at publishers@openedition.org. The OpenEdition team is on hand to provide information on the application procedure to join the platform. It is possible to arrange a time to discuss our services and conditions in more detail.
 

Application procedure

If you are interested, please download the application package below. On the application form, you will be asked to give an overview of the publisher, the book series you are submitting, and your digital publishing plans. We encourage publishers to present a complete book series. The application is assessed when at least four titles have been published in the series. If the series is in the process of being created, please outline the publishing schedule.
Publishers can also request to join the OpenEdition digitization support programme. This offers publishers the opportunity to have their entire backlist converted free of charge to XML formats, which can then be exploited for digital publication. Participation in this programme is subject to the fulfillment of academic and technical criteria.

Applicants should also accept the General Terms and Conditions of Use of the Electronic Platforms of the Cléo’s OpenEdition Portal.

Assessment of applications

Applications will be assessed by the OpenEdition Academic committee. The committee will assess the relevance of the publishing venture, the academic credentials and editorial quality of the book series, and whether or not it falls within the disciplinary scope of the humanities and social sciences.
The decision to accept or refuse applications is taken by the OpenEdition Academic committee. It may call upon an external academic expert for certain book series. A final decision will be taken only once a complete application has been received.

Application stages:

  1. Receipt and consideration of the application,
  2. Assessment of the application by the OpenEdition Academic committee on a series-by-series basis – Possible recourse to an external expert, who will submit an expert report to the committee,
  3. For each book series, a detailed final decision is issued to the publisher by the Academic committee,
  4. Technical assessment of the feasibility of digitizing and encoding the books that have been put forward for the digitization support programme,
  5. Final decision announced to the publisher.

External experts

OpenEdition works with a large number of experts who are called upon according to their speciality and academic position. Experts are selected by OpenEdition's Academic committee and their evaluation is anonymous.

Application assessment deadlines

Application evaluations take at least three months. The time varies according to the complexity of .

Contact

There is a single e-mail address for sending applications, and for all questions relating to the application process and procedures: publishers@openedition.org

Downloadable documents

Dossier de candidature (Français) (application/zip – 137k)

Application package (English) (application/zip – 142k)

Candidater pour une collection de livres

OpenEdition Books rassemble un consortium international d’éditeurs autour d’une initiative de diffusion électronique d’ouvrages issus de la recherche en sciences humaines et sociales.

Vous êtes éditeur de livres et vous souhaitez participer à cette initiative ? Nous vous invitons à nous contacter à : editeurs@openedition.org. L’équipe d’OpenEdition est à votre disposition pour vous renseigner sur les modalités d’accession à la plateforme. Nous pourrons convenir d’un entretien pour présenter en détail nos services et nos conditions de participation.

Dossier de candidature

Si vous êtes intéressés, vous pouvez télécharger un dossier de demande d’accession à la plateforme OpenEdition Books ci-dessous. Dans ce dossier, nous vous demandons de présenter l’éditeur, les collections que vous soumettez à candidature, et d’expliquer votre projet d’édition électronique. La présentation de collections complètes est encouragée. Par ailleurs, la candidature d’une collection est examinée lorsqu’au moins quatre livres y ont été publiés. Si celle-ci est en cours de création, merci d’indiquer le programme de publication.

L’éditeur peut également présenter une demande de participation au programme de soutien à la  numérisation proposé par OpenEdition. Ce programme permet de bénéficier de la prise en charge, par OpenEdition, de la rétroconversion de votre catalogue vers des formats XML exploitables pour la publication électronique. Cette participation est soumise à une double évaluation, scientifique et technique.

La demande d'accession est conditionnée à l'acceptation des Conditions générales d’utilisation des plateformes électroniques d'OpenEdition.

Évaluation du dossier

L’acceptation de la candidature repose sur l’évaluation du dossier, confiée au Conseil scientifique d'OpenEdition. Il s’agit d’évaluer la pertinence du projet d’édition, la garantie scientifique des collections, leur qualité éditoriale, ainsi que leur inscription dans le périmètre disciplinaire des sciences humaines et sociales.

La décision d'accepter ou non l'éditeur et ses collections revient au Conseil scientifique d'OpenEdition. Ce dernier peut faire ponctuellement appel à un expert scientifique pour certaines collections. L’avis définitif ne peut être exprimé que sur la base d’un dossier complet.

Les étapes de l’évaluation :

  1. Réception et étude du dossier de candidature,
  2. Examen du dossier collection par collection par le Conseil scientifique d’OpenEdition ; recours éventuel à un expert externe, qui remet un rapport d'expertise au Conseil scientifique,
  3. Le Conseil scientifique rend une décision argumentée, pour chacune des collections candidates, qui sera communiquée à l’éditeur,
  4. Étude de la faisabilité technique de la numérisation/encodage des livres (pour les fonds proposés au programme de soutien à la  numérisation),
  5. Communication de la décision finale à l’éditeur.
     

L’expertise externe

OpenEdition travaille avec un nombre important d’experts qui sont sollicités sur la base de leur spécialité et de leur statut scientifique. Les experts sont choisis par le Conseil Scientifique d’OpenEdition. Les expertises sont anonymes.

Délais d’évaluation

L’évaluation d’une candidature dure au moins trois mois. La durée varie selon la complexité des dossiers.

Contact

Une seule adresse électronique pour envoyer les demandes d’adhésion et pour toutes questions sur la procédure ou les modalités d’adhésion : editeurs@openedition.org

Documents à télécharger

Dossier de candidature (Français) ( – 139k)

Application package (English) ( – 142k)