Identifying publications

e-ISSNs and ISBNs

On the request of the OpenEdition, each digital journal published on OpenEdition Journals and each research blog on Hypotheses is attributed an e-ISSN by the Bibliothèque nationale de France. These publications are therefore recognised as clearly identifiable bibliographical resources.
The International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) and International Standard Book Number (ISBN) are unique numbers that meet international standards and make it possible to identify each and every journal and edition of a given book, regardless of whether it is published in digital or print format. These numbers are intended to simplify management issues for all actors in the publishing industry (printers, publishers, book sellers, librarians, etc.).

Digital object identifiers

OpenEdition systematically registers a digital object identifier (DOI) with Crossref for every journal article published on OpenEdition Journals. It will soon do the same for books and chapters published on OpenEdition Books.
A DOI is a unique ID number for a digital resource. It is based on the document’s metadata and its online location.
DOI resolvers, which have a similar role to search engines, can be used to directly locate the resource corresponding to a given DOI.
DOIs are a complement to e-ISSNs because they offer the possibility of cross-linking references or displaying a single resource in several different locations, which is not possible with an e-ISSN.

More information on the Maison des revues website:
See also: Cross-linking via DOIs

Identification des publications

e-ISSN et ISBN

Pour chaque revue électronique sur OpenEdition Journals et chaque carnet de recherche sur Hypotheses, le OpenEdition fait une demande d’e-ISSN auprès de la Bibliothèque nationale de France. Ces publications sont ainsi reconnues comme de des ressources bibliographiques et identifiables de manière univoque.

Les International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) et International Standard Book Number (ISBN) sont des numéros uniques, répondant à une norme international, qui permettent d’identifier de manière unique chaque revue et chaque édition de chaque livre, que son support soit numérique ou sur papier. Ils sont destinés à simplifier la gestion informatique pour tous les intervenants de la chaîne du livre (imprimeur, éditeur, libraire, bibliothèque, etc.).

Digital object identifier

Des Digital object identifiers (DOI) sont systématiquement déposés auprès de l’agence Crossref pour les articles des revues d'OpenEdition Journals et bientôt pour les livres et chapitres d’OpenEdition Books.

Le DOI est un identifiant unique spécifique aux ressources numériques. Il est déterminé à la fois par des métadonnées qui sont propres au document et par la localisation de ce document en ligne.

Il existe plusieurs DOI resolvers, dont le rôle est comparable à celui des moteurs de recherche, permettent de retrouver directement la ressource correspondante.

Les DOI sont complémentaires des e-ISSN car ils ouvrent la possibilité de croiser les références ou d’afficher plusieurs localisations d’une même ressource, ce que ne permettent pas les e-ISSN.

--